Phyllo Dough Pizza

It wasn’t long ago that I discovered phyllo dough.  I was browsing the internet one day looking for a new idea for preparing salmon.  I came across a recipe for salmon topped with cut asparagus and wrapped in phyllo dough.

I spent at least 20 minutes trying to find the stuff in the grocery store.  Finally, I located a store-brand box of phyllo dough in the freezer section with pie doughs, after looking there at least five times.

As you may know, phyllo dough is paper thin, and a million times more fragile.  It wasn’t pretty getting a thin section cut and wrapped around the salmon.  Phyllo dough and I weren’t off to a great start.

Fast forwarding a bit, I was at the grocery store again to prepare for the incoming hurricane, Irene.  I wasn’t very successful.  After having an earthquake and now a hurricane in the same week, people were rather panicked and acting as though the world was ending for the East Coast.

The devastating earthquake damage.

Having been in the Army, I wasn’t too concerned about what I might have to live off of, food-wise, if the hurricane hit badly.  I scored a bit of canned food and produce.  That was enough.

Now it was time to dig in for the weekend and weather the storm.  Alone.

The girlfriend was off in Vegas, living it up at her best friend’s bachelorette party.  Coincidently, said best friend’s name is Irene, so she was with Irene in the West while I was in Irene in the East.

Being trapped indoors and bored, I figured I should take advantage of power while I still had it.  This called for something yummy to eat from the limited foods I had.  Pizza is always great for this since you can put whatever you want on it.  The only dough I had was  the phyllo, so I gave it another shot.  After all, I had plenty of time on my hands to struggle with the defiant stuff.

This is when I fell in love with phyllo dough.

It transformed my pizza.  It was the flakiest, lightest, crunchiest pizza dough I’ve ever experienced.  Just look at all of those layers of light, crispy dough that just flakes apart in your mouth when you bite down.

Phyllo Dough Pizza:

  • Preheat oven to 375° F.
  • Take out six sheets of phyllo dough and put the rest back in the fridge or freezer, wrapped so that it is air-tight.
  • Carefully cut the six sheets in half, lengthwise, and place one piece on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or coated with cooking spray.
  • Spray the first piece of phyllo dough with a light, even layer of cooking spray (I like canola oil spray), lay another piece on top, spray, and repeat with all 12 pieces.
  • Coat with basil pesto or sauce of your choice.
  • Add your favorite toppings.  I had tomato and red onion on hand.  Sprinkle with cheese.
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes, until dough it golden-brown.
  • Top with fresh basil.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Phyllo Dough Pizza

Comment

