Country-Style Pork Rib with Squash and Sun-Dried Tomato Couscous

I’m glad you made it.

As you can see, I’m just starting things off here, so please do check back often for new content!  Hopefully you’ve already read the “About” page to get an idea of what this place is… about.

Okay, let’s get on with it, then.

I have a delicious meal to share with you.  I chose this meal for my first post because I feel it is a prime example of what this blog represents: simplicity, approachability, and some darn good looks.  After all, I love a fancy-looking plate of food that was a breeze to make.  I promise.  You really don’t even need a recipe.  I don’t even like using the word “recipe” because it’s a bit of an oxymoron in relation to this blog.  I encourage you to use your intuition and personal taste in all things savory.  You can do it!

Without further ado, here’s the deliciousness we’re talking about today:

A country-style pork rib with a squash & sun-dried tomato couscous.  The sliver of cucumber serves a purpose, too.

I didn’t have that much effort left in me to prepare this meal, so it’s wonderfully simple.  I didn’t even use the oven for the ribs, and being in an apartment, I don’t have a grill.  The stovetop is my friend.

First, get the couscous going.  I had the Trader Joe’s Organic Israeli Couscous and followed the directions on the box.  Get some water boiling.  The box tells you how much you need in proportion to the amount of couscous you’re making.  While the water’s coming to a boil, slightly brown the couscous in a saucepan using some canola or olive oil.  Those are the only two oils I ever use.  This only takes a few minutes.  Then add the boiling water and cover.

Get your ribs into a hot skillet without overcrowding the pan.

You want to simmer the couscous until the water has been absorbed.  You can add the cut green and yellow squash during this time so that it cooks simultaneously with the couscous.  It should be finished in 10-15 minutes.

Flip the ribs when they’re getting the charred look on the bottom and cook the other side the same.

I tried using a peeler to get the long slice of cucumber, but it was just too thin of a slice.  Instead I used a paring knife to carefully slice along the entire length.  Go ahead and plate the cucumber.

When the ribs are finished, let them rest and brush them with your favorite barbecue sauce.  I used a honey-chipotle flavor and didn’t bother with homemade this time.  When the couscous is finished, stir in strips of sun-dried tomato.

I put the couscous in a little dish so that there would be a solid enough place for the end of the rib to rest to plate the dish the way I wanted to.  If you don’t have one, you can just spoon it onto one end of the cucumber and rest the rib on it as much as you can.

The cucumber actually added a nice refreshing taste and texture to the sweetness of the rib.  And yes, we definitely went back to the kitchen for another rib!

The girlfriend approved:

I promise to have more pictures in future posts during the cooking process now that they’ll be on a blog.  Please feel free to write or comment with any feedback or questions!

But to make this post better, here is a picture of my cat.

His name is Orange Julius Caesar, and he’s a total momma’s boy.

Comment

